It’s Actually Fun to Learn about Insects: The Way of the Hive by Jay Hosler

I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I must preface this with the fact that I am not a science person, nor have I ever enjoyed insects. Jay Hosler’s The Way of the Hive really made me change my mind. I am always looking for nonfiction texts that will engage my fifth graders, and this is an excellent choice for anyone looking for that engagement in a nonfiction text.
It is told in the form of a graphic novel, making it a quick, but informative read. It centers around a honeybee with a lot of questions named Nyuki and the big sister that mentors her named Devorah. The way the author weaves literary story into an informational text about honeybees and the natural world truly is genius.
The love of the characters creates an overpowering need for the reader to turn the page. Kids will identify with young Nyuki and learn with her in spite of their best efforts. I read an excerpt to my fifth grade students and they were chomping at the bit to read it themselves. A quick, engaging read that will resonate with middle grade students. I can’t say enough good things about a book that taught me a thing or two about a subject I previously knew nothing about.

Available now from your local indie book store or use this link to purchase on Amazon.

Published by FabwithFifth

I'm a fifth grade ELA teacher that is trying to become better every single day. I'll share my ideas from my best reads in professional books that you can actually use! I may be tired, but I keep going.

Leave a comment